» » Jamie Lidell - Jim

Jamie Lidell - Jim mp3 album

  • Performer: Jamie Lidell
  • Title: Jim
  • Genre: Electronic / Funk
  • Country: UK
  • Released: 2008
  • Style: Soul, Funk
  • MP3 album: 1406 mb
  • FLAC album: 1272 mb
  • Rating: 4.8/5
  • Votes: 924
Jamie Lidell - Jim mp3 album

Jim is a studio album by Jamie Lidell. It was released through Warp on 28 April 2008. It peaked at number 8 on the UK Independent Albums Chart, as well as number 183 on the Billboard 200 chart, number 7 on the Billboard Heatseekers Albums chart, and number 23 on the Billboard Independent Albums chart. All tracks written by Jamie Lidell and Dominic 'Mocky' Salole, except where noted.

Jamie Alexander Lidderdale (born 18 September 1973, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, England), known professionally as Jamie Lidell, is an English musician and soul singer living in Nashville, Tennessee. Lidell was formerly a part of Super Collider. Lidell is known for layering tracks made with his voice into a microphone and performing the percussion and melody as a sequenced, beatboxing one-man band. Then over his augmented voices, he sings soul-inspired songs.

Jamie Lidell continues his soul takeover of Warp with JIM, though this time, he seems to channel a feel-good 60s vibe right off the bat on "Another Day" and "Green Light. Wait For Me" continues this, but "Out Of My System," "Little Bit Of Feel Good," and "Hurricane" dive head-first into the funk-soul. Lidell seems to be engaging with funk on a more pure level here, with less electronic nudging as on MULTIPLY, but he also shows his more sensitive side with "All I Wanna Do" and "Rope of Sand.

Jamie Lidell, Dominic Salole.

It's more blue-eyed soul, but with the songs, voice and production to carry it off, says Garry Mulholland. Lidell ended the 20th century as part of techno duo Super Collider, before signing to electronica pioneers Warp and making an album of largely instrumental computer noise. Lidell is still working with Feist and Peaches collaborator Mocky (aka Dominic Salole) and his fellow Canadian Gonzales

Jamie Lidell is one of those artist that broke into a little bit of mainstream by being used in an episode of Grey's Anatomy. His last album Multiply was an absolute piece of art. It evoked the spirit of old time funk, a little motown, and rock and roll. This album is surely focused a little more on Motown. Jim is more polished a lot softer and happier. These songs could have easily been from a past time period. The songs are well written and very well performed. Any fan of Motown would surely fall in love with this album. 2 people found this helpful.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Another Day
Congas [Conga] – Bill YoungmanHandclaps [Rhythmic Applause] – Justin StanleyHandclaps [Rhythmic Applause], Backing Vocals [Backups] – Joniece Jamison, Linda Lee Hopkins, Tatiana HeintzHandclaps [Rhythmic Applause], Cowbell, Performer [Farf] – MockyKazoo, Percussion [Brush], Handclaps [Rhythmic Applause] – Jim*Producer [Backup Vocal Production], Arranged By [Backup Vocal Arranging] – GonzalesTambourine – Shawn Davis
2 Wait For Me
Backing Vocals [Backups] – Joniece Jamison, Linda Lee Hopkins, Tatiana HeintzProducer [Backup Vocal Production], Arranged By [Backup Vocal Arranging], Organ, Tambourine – Gonzales
3 Out Of My System
Bass [End Bass], Tambourine – Shawn Davis Drums, Tape [Tape Treatments], Bells – Jim*Organ, Cymbal, Performer [Fills] – MockyTambourine, Handclaps [Claps] – Justin Stanley
4 All I Wanna Do
Cello – Hildur Gudnadóttir*Drums, Organ [Bridge Hammond] – GonzalesKeyboards [Keys], Percussion – Mocky
5 Little Bit Of Feel Good
Backing Vocals [Backups] – Nikka CostaClavinet [Clavs], Synthesizer [Flute Synth] – David Palmer Cymbal [Finger Cymbals], Saxophone [Marrocan Sax], Recorder, Guitar [Off Guitar], Talkbox – Jim*Drum Programming [Digital Chunky Druma] – SnaxElectric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer [Synth] – MockyHandclaps [Claps] – Justin StanleyWritten-By – Andre Vida
6 Figured Me Out
Backing Vocals [Backups] – Hildur Gudnadóttir*Synthesizer [Additional Synths], Clavinet [Clavs] – Brian LeBartonSynthesizer [Synth] – MockySynthesizer [Synths And Funk Dust] – SnaxTalkbox, Guitar, Synthesizer [Synth], Bass – Jim*
7 Hurricane
Backing Vocals [Backups], Voice [Street Chat] – PeachesBass – Shawn Davis Clavinet [Clav], Guitar, Tambourine, Handclaps [Claps] – Justin StanleyPiano [Toy Piano], Organ, Bells [Bell], Synthesizer [Noisy Synth], Guitar [Sped Up And Trashy Guitar] – Jim*Voice [Street Chat] – Mocky
8 Green Light
Backing Vocals [Backups] – Nikka CostaClavinet [Clav], Synthesizer [Synth], Finger Snaps [Snaps] – Jim*, MockyElectric Piano [Wurli] – Mike Farrell*Written-By – Jason Charles Beck AKA "Gonzales"*
9 Where D'You Go?
Backing Vocals [Backups] – PeachesHandclaps [Claps] – Aladin Letang, Gonzales, Renaud LetangTambourine – Gonzales, MockyWritten-By – Jason Charles Beck AKA "Gonzales"*
10 Rope Of Sand
Cello, Backing Vocals [Backups] – Hildur Gudnadóttir*Electric Piano [Wurli] – Mike Farrell*Omnichord [Magic Omnichord] – Jim*Omnichord [Magic Omnichord], Bells – Justin StanleyOrgan, Omnichord [Magic Omnichord], Mandolin – Mocky

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
WARPCD160 Jamie Lidell Jim ‎(CD, Album) Warp Records WARPCD160 UK 2008
WARPCD160 Jamie Lidell Jim ‎(CD, Album) Warp Records WARPCD160 US 2008
WARPCD160P Jamie Lidell Jim ‎(CD, Album, Promo) Warp Records WARPCD160P UK 2008
BRC-194L Jamie Lidell Jim ‎(CD, Album) Warp Records, Beat Records BRC-194L Japan 2008
WARPCD160 Jamie Lidell Jim ‎(CDr, Album, Num, Promo, Wat) Warp Records WARPCD160 UK 2008

Related to Jamie Lidell - Jim albums: