» » The Pop Group - Y

The Pop Group - Y mp3 album

  • Performer: The Pop Group
  • Title: Y
  • Genre: Electronic / Rock
  • Country: UK
  • Formats: TTA MP2 XM DTS WAV MP4 DMF
  • Released: 1979
  • Style: Dub, Avantgarde, Experimental
  • MP3 album: 1723 mb
  • FLAC album: 1891 mb
  • Rating: 4.3/5
  • Votes: 598
The Pop Group - Y mp3 album

The Pop Group are a British post-punk band from Bristol, England, formed in 1978, whose dissonant sound spanned punk, free jazz, funk and dub reggae. Their lyrics were often political in nature. Y is their debut studio album. It was released on 20 April 1979, through record label Radar. In 2004, Pitchfork Media ranked Y at number 35 on its list of the greatest albums of the 1970s. Internet rock music historian Piero Scaruffi ranks Y as the 23rd greatest rock album ever.

Bands like The Pop Group or Gang of Four or Talking Heads struck the reminiscents of the scene with and even more strange and somehow rebellious attitude (this time driven towards music, and music alone). With Y, the british band set their names among the greatest of the period, with an album that drew direct influences from early 70s. 2. 3y. Razzle Dazzle.

Producer – Dennis Blackbeard Bovell, The Pop Group. Written-By – The Pop Group. Includes OBI Strip & two lyric inserts (one in Japanese, one in English). Radar Records (5). RAD 20.

The Pop Group:Y (1979). Y. Released in. 1979. Album by The Pop Group. Savage Sea. Words Disobey Me.

This category is for music groups who perform K-pop music who are not necessarily Korean. For South Korean performers of pop music, see Category:South Korean pop music groups. This category has the following 2 subcategories, out of 2 total.

The Pop Group‏ opGroup 15h15 hours ago. More. p/the-pop-group~301?scroll lef. i. witter. ICYMI @ markstewart, the towering frontman of opGroup and The Maffia looks back on four decades of fire theft, including the recently reissued 1983 album Learning To Cope With Cowardice.

The Pop Group are a post-punk band which formed in 1977 in Bristol, England. They consisted of Mark Stewart (vocals), John Waddington (guitar), Gareth Sager (guitar), Simon Underwood (bass) and Bruce Smith (drums). The band reformed in 2010 for a reunion tour. In November 2014, the Pop Group announced that they would release an album of new material titled "Citizen Zombie" on 23 February 2015. The album was produced by Paul Epworth.


A1 Thief Of Fire
A2 Snowgirl
A3 Blood Money
A4 Savage Sea
A5 We Are Time
B1 Words Disobey Me
B2 Don't Call Me Pain
B3 The Boys From Brazil
B4 Don't Sell Your Dreams

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Radarscope Records Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Radarscope Records Ltd.
  • Published By – Copyright Control


  • Directed By [Director] – Disc O'Dell
  • Engineer – Mike Dunne
  • Engineer [Asst] – Brian Gaylor
  • Other [Equipment] – Dave Harvey, John Botting, Jon Beales
  • Other [Sect.] – Linda Neville
  • Performer – Bruce Smith, Gareth Sager, John Waddington, Mark Stewart, Simon Underwood
  • Photography By [Front] – Donald McCullin / Sunday Times*, Ian Denning
  • Producer – Dennis Blackbeard Bovell*, The Pop Group
  • Sleeve – Malcolm Garrett, Rich Beale

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album) Radar Records RAD 20 UK 1979
WPCR-722 The Pop Group Y ‎(CD, Album, RE) Radar Records WPCR-722 Japan 1996
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album) Radar Records RAD 20 UK 1979
RAD 20 The Pop Group Y ‎(LP, Album, RE, Unofficial) Radar Records RAD 20 2014
PRO SCAN 14 The Pop Group Y ‎(CD, Album, Promo, RE) Radar Records PRO SCAN 14 Europe 1996

Related to The Pop Group - Y albums: