» » Don Rigsby - Empty Old Mailbox

Don Rigsby - Empty Old Mailbox mp3 album

  • Performer: Don Rigsby
  • Title: Empty Old Mailbox
  • Genre: World, Country
  • Released: 2000
  • Style: Bluegrass
  • MP3 album: 1603 mb
  • FLAC album: 1822 mb
  • Rating: 4.6/5
  • Votes: 516
Don Rigsby - Empty Old Mailbox mp3 album

This album has an average beat per minute of 145 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 90/195 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. Tracklist Empty Old Mailbox. BPM Profile Empty Old Mailbox. Album starts at 179BPM, ends at BPM (-179), with tempos within the -BPM range. Try refreshing the page if dots are missing).

Assembling a group of tremendous musicians to play on Empty Old Mailbox - including his old boss, . Crowe; Lonesome River Band mate Sammy Shelor; and dobro master Jerry Douglas - Don Rigsby has put together a solid solo album that showcases his daunting tenor. He does a wonderful turn through the title track, written by Tom T. Hall and his wife, Dixie, and the barnstormer "Louise," which was penned by the dependable Paul Craft.

In 2000, the title track from the album Empty Old Mailbox won the 2001 SPBGMA Song of the Year award 2003's The Midnight Call featured Jim Hurst (guitar), Stuart Duncan (fiddle], Carl Jackson, Rob McCoury (mandolin), Kenny Malone (percussion), and Vassar Clements. Rigsby sang on Alan Jackson's The Bluegrass Album in 2013, and a tour with Jackson included an appearance on Late Night with David Letterman on CB. .

From Jerry Douglas’ opening dobro licks to the last ensemble G chord, Empty Old Mailbox is a nearly perfect bluegrass album. Nearly perfect because it lacks the late great fiddler Randy Howard, to whose memory this CD is dedicated. Backed by a stampede of steller players including Gabe Witcher on fiddle, Ron Stewart, . Crowe, Ron Rigsby, Carl Jackson, and Sammy Shelor on banjo, Stuart Duncan on Clawhmmer banjo, Ben Isaacs and Gene Libea on bass, Tim Stafford, Carl Jackson, Larry Sparks, Ray Craft, and Jimmy Sloas on guitar, David Blazer on cello, and Garnet Imes, Tim Surrett, Carl Jackson,.

Your browser does not support the audio element. Empty Old Mail Box. Your browser does not support the audio element.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 I Won't Be There
Written-By – Dale Ferguson, Don Rigsby
2 Bluetone Mountain
Written-By – Mark "Brink" Brinkman*
3 Empty Old Mailbox
Written-By – Dixie Hall, Tom T. Hall
4 Son Of A Gun
Written-By – Marvin Davis*
5 These Ole Blues
Written-By – Larry Sparks
6 Poor Little Rich Man
Written-By – Carl Jackson, Don Rigsby
7 Dust To Dust
Written-By – Jimmie Sloas*, Monty Powell
8 Louise
Written-By – Cadillac Holmes, Paul Craft
9 Don't Sell The Land
Written By – Larry RousseauWritten-By – John Morris*
10 Bad Day In Akron
Written-By – Leroy Maxey Drumm*, Pete Goble
11 If I'd Had A Mother Like You
Written-By – Bo Jamison
12 I Am A Little Soldier
Arranged By – Don RigsbyWritten-By – Traditional
13 Here I Am In Love Again
Written-By – John Hartford
14 Precious Love
Written-By – Gordon Kennedy

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sugar Hill Records, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Sugar Hill Records, Inc.
  • Recorded At – Fatback Sound Studio
  • Recorded At – Charlie Peacock Studios
  • Recorded At – Franklin Audio
  • Recorded At – Planet III
  • Recorded At – Eastwood Studios, Cana, VA
  • Mastered At – Wolf Productions Inc.


  • Acoustic Bass – Ben Isaacs , Gene Libbea
  • Banjo – J.D. Crowe, Ron Rigsby, Ron Stewart , Sammy Shelor
  • Banjo [clawhammer] – Stuart Duncan
  • Banjo, Guitar, Tenor Vocals, Baritone Vocals – Carl Jackson
  • Baritone Vocals – Gordon Kennedy, Tim Surrett
  • Baritone Vocals [High] – Tina Rigsby
  • Cello – David Blazer
  • Design – Sue Meyer
  • Dobro – Jerry Douglas
  • Electric Bass, Guitar, Mixed By – Jimmie Sloas*
  • Engineer – Chris Hugan, David Kazee, Kevin Johnson , Larry Hanson, Wes Easter
  • Fiddle – Gabe Witcher
  • Guitar – Ray Craft, Tim Stafford
  • Guitar, Lead Vocals – Larry Sparks
  • Lead Vocals, Tenor Vocals – Lilly Isaacs
  • Liner Notes – Tom T. Hall
  • Mandolin, Lead Vocals, Tenor Vocals, Producer, Mixed By – Don Rigsby
  • Mastered By – Bill Wolf
  • Mixed By, Engineer [Chief] – Richie Biggs
  • Percussion – Steve Brewster
  • Photography By – Glen Rose
  • Producer – Jimmie Lee Sloas
  • Tenor Vocals – Garnet Imes
  • Tenor Vocals, Baritone Vocals [High] – Rebecca Isaacs-Bowman*, Sonya Isaacs



Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 15891 39152 6
  • Matrix / Runout: DIDX -0722075 01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L336
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 6100

Related to Don Rigsby - Empty Old Mailbox albums: