» » Metz - Strange Peace

Metz - Strange Peace mp3 album

  • Performer: Metz
  • Title: Strange Peace
  • Genre: Rock
  • Country: US
  • Released: 2017
  • Style: Punk, Noise
  • MP3 album: 1195 mb
  • FLAC album: 1141 mb
  • Rating: 4.6/5
  • Votes: 668
Metz - Strange Peace mp3 album

Album · 2017 · 11 Songs. The first thing one hears on METZ’s Strange Peace is an engineer’s announcement that tape is rolling. The second is what sounds like a construction site settling into a pretty good groove. The band rarely lets up from there, grinding out post-punk so noxious and ugly it ends up feeling strangely cleansing-like a bath, but with bleach

Strange Peace is the third album from the Toronto noise-rock outfit METZ, and it's anything but peaceful. Starting with their self-titled debut for Sub Pop records, the trio of singer-guitarist Alex Edkins, bassist Chris Slorach, and drummer Hayden Menzies has raised a healthy if unholy racket, a sound that sits somewhere between the dissonant aggression of Shellac and the off-kilter hooks of Pixies.

But how will their rampant, thrashing sound fare in the homeland of punk with their new album Strange Peace? Despite only being a three-piece set, the volume and noise METZ is capable of producing defies logic and sounds like a larger, more chaotic set. Having released one earlier album in 2012 and a second in 2015, how does the album mark up to previous work, and if it’s successful, will it coax them out of their somewhat low profile? As the opening track, Mess of Wires.

For their third LP Strange Peace, METZ headed to Chicago, cutting the album live to tape with Steve Albini, who imbues the same feral nature he has given his own bands and dozens of other recordings onto the compositions of guitarist/vocalist Alex Edkins, drummer Hayden Menzies and bassist Chris Slorach. However, what’s new about Strange Peace is a more empowered grasp of the art of songwriting. One can hear the influence of Public Image Ltd. bursting through the fuzz on Drained Lake, especially in the Lydon-esque inflections of Edkins’ phrasing. Elsewhere, songs like Cellophane, Caterpillar and Dig A Hole explore dashes of pop melody subtle enough to not disturb the album’s consistent hard charge but reveal a desire to strive for something more cohesive.


1 Mess Of Wires
2 Drained Lake
3 Cellophane
4 Caterpillar
5 Lost In The Blank City
6 Mr. Plague
7 Sink
8 Common Trash
9 Escalator Teeth
10 Dig A Hole
11 Raw Materials

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Royal Mountain Records
  • Copyright (c) – Royal Mountain Records
  • Recorded At – Electrical Audio
  • Recorded At – The Woodshed
  • Recorded At – Basketball 4 Life
  • Recorded At – The Nursery
  • Mastered At – Chicago Mastering Service
  • Published By – METZmusic


  • Art Direction – Jeff Kleinsmith, Metz
  • Design – Jeff Kleinsmith
  • Illustration [Collage Illustrations] – Jonathan Bauerle
  • Mastered By – Matthew Barnhart
  • Mixed By – Graham Walsh, Metz
  • Performer – Alex Edkins, Chris Slorach, Hayden Menzies
  • Photography By [Live Photography] – Anna Edwards
  • Recorded By – Alex Edkins, Graham Walsh, Steve Albini
  • Songwriter, Producer – Metz


Recorded by Steve Albini at Electrical Audio//Graham Walsh at The Woodshed, Baskitball 4 Life//Alex Edkins at The Nursery

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 680889093685
  • Matrix / Runout: 1127JPRMR068 02 0001
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L779

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
sp 1199 Metz Strange Peace ‎(CD, Album, Dig) Sub Pop sp 1199 US 2017
SP 1199, sp 1199 Metz Strange Peace ‎(LP, Album) Sub Pop, Sub Pop SP 1199, sp 1199 Europe 2017
sp 1199 Metz Strange Peace ‎(LP, Album) Sub Pop sp 1199 US 2017
RMR-067C Metz Strange Peace ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Cle) Royal Mountain Records RMR-067C Canada 2017
none Metz Strange Peace ‎(11xFile, MP3, 320) Not On Label (Metz Self-released) none Canada 2017

Related to Metz - Strange Peace albums: